2020 has been a difficult year for all of us, and at this year’s Celebration of Scouting Awards we wanted to recognise and celebrate those that have gone above and beyond for Scouting in Wales during what has been an extremely turbulent year.

Each of the nominations we received were incredible and we couldn’t be prouder of our amazing volunteers!

So, to spread some positivity we wanted to share our winner’s stories with you!

Next up we’ve got the Dre’Team ESU & Dyfi Valley ESU Montgomeryshire who won the Group Award.

Five Montgomeryshire Young Leaders received this award for their dedication and commitment to Scouting.

Aaron Eaton, Amren Stephenson, Conall Rhodes, Joe Lewis and Piper Saunders have been described as “amazing role models” for younger members of their Group. They have all completed the Young Leaders Award scheme over two years and between the five Young Leaders, they have accumulated around 1000 hours of volunteering so far.

They volunteered at the All Wales Scout Camp in 2018, the All Wales Cub Fun day in 2019, and also signed up to be part of the Explorer Scout Service Team in 2020 despite having GCSE and A-Level exams at the same time.

Each of the Young Leaders nominated understand the value of being able to adapt the programme to meet the unique requirements of individuals and can recognise their individual differences. They have been brilliant at enabling the sections to provide a youth led and inclusive programme creating a positive and engaging atmosphere within the sections.

In addition to the role they have played in delivering the programme within their sections they have also championed the Young Leaders Award itself, inspiring younger Explorers to undertake the award to achieve the same high standards that they have.

Congratulations all and thank you for your hard work and unwavering dedication to Scouting in Wales!